DuPage County Driver's License Suspension Attorneys
Defending Clients in Naperville, St. Charles, and Throughout Northern Illinois
Driving without a valid license is a very serious offense in Illinois. Not only can it lead to longer suspensions and/or revocations of your license, it can also result in heavy fines and even jail time. If you have been charged for driving without a license or driving with a suspended or revoked license, you should not fight this battle alone. With so much on the line, it is important to speak with an experienced criminal law attorney so you know your rights and options.
For over 40 years, Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices has successfully defended clients in Chicago and throughout northern Illinois for all types of criminal charges; from minor speeding tickets to multiple DUIs to major felonies. Our award-winning lawyers are former public defenders and prosecutors with extensive experience litigating cases at all levels of the state and federal judicial system. We have in-depth knowledge of how the courts operate and what it takes to reduce or eliminate the legal consequences of the charges against you.
We are highly acclaimed not only for our skill and experience but also for our aggressive advocacy on behalf of our clients. Our attorneys are honest, straightforward, accessible, and sympathize with your situation. We devote the utmost attention to each case and explore every potential legal avenue to secure a positive outcome. When you are charged with driving without a license, we take the time to thoroughly examine the specifics of your case and go to work immediately to craft an effective defense strategy.
Consequences of Driving Without a License in Illinois
Driving without a license or with a suspended or revoked license is typically treated as a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by fines as high as $2,500 and a maximum of one year in county jail. Under certain circumstances, such as with multiple offenses and/or driving with a suspended or revoked license because of a DUI without an ignition interlock device, the charge can be upgraded to a Class 4 Felony that is punishable by fines up to $25,000 and one to three years in jail. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license, the Illinois Secretary of State (SOS) will usually extend your suspension by the same length of time as the original suspension. If you are convicted of driving with a revoked license, you will not be considered for reinstatement for at least one year from your conviction date.
Driving without a license or driving with a suspended or revoked license is a serious crime in Illinois. If you have been charged with this offense, you must be proactive in defending the charges. Otherwise, you can lose your driving privileges for an extended period and in some cases it may even cost you your freedom. At Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices, we put our experience to work to challenge the charges against you and minimize the negative legal consequences. For a free consultation with one of our skilled driving without a license lawyers in Illinois, contact our office today at 630-932-9100630-932-9100.