DuPage County Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyers
Skilled Defense for Hit and Run Accident Charges in Illinois
If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident, you need experienced legal representation. In Illinois, fleeing the scene of an accident is a criminal offense, which can result in loss of driving privileges, heavy fines, and even jail time. Also, if there is evidence of alcohol impairment, you may be accused of leaving the scene to avoid a DUI, resulting in more severe consequences. To understand your rights and options, it is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney right away.
Since 1979, Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices has provided skilled representation to clients charged with fleeing the scene of an accident and all other types of criminal charges in Chicagoland and throughout Northern Illinois. Our award-winning attorneys have the in-depth experience successfully litigating criminal cases at all levels of the state and federal judicial system. Our legal team includes former prosecutors and public defenders with extensive knowledge of the inner workings of the court system, and we put this experience to work to explore every possible legal avenue to secure positive outcomes for our clients.
We have received recognition not only for our experience and skill but also for our tireless commitment to defending the rights of our clients. Our lawyers are honest, straightforward, accessible, and approachable. We understand what is at stake for our clients who are charged with fleeing the scene of an accident, and we take the time to examine the specifics of each case thoroughly, so we can craft the most effective defense strategy to reduce or eliminate the negative consequences.
Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Illinois
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident depend on the specific circumstances. If you flee an accident involving only property damage, it is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by fines of up to $2,500 and a maximum of one year in county jail. If you flee an accident involving bodily injuries or fatalities, the charges can be upgraded to a Class 4 or even a Class 2 Felony. In such instances, fines start at $25,000 and you could be looking at several years of incarceration. If convicted of this offense, you will also have your driver’s license suspended or revoked by the Illinois Secretary of State (SOS).
Leaving the scene of an accident is among the more serious traffic violations in Illinois. If you are charged for this offense, you need a strong defense strategy to avoid the most severe consequences. At Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices, we are aggressive advocates on behalf of each client we serve. We also offer free initial consultations, so there is no risk of having one of our lawyers examine your case. The schedule your free consultation, contact our office today at 630-932-9100630-932-9100.